Oscars 2015 Live Blog with Winners


It’s Oscars time! Here is the annual live blog of Hollywood’s biggest night! Who will win, what surprises await, how will NPH do as host? Let’s find out below beginning at 5:30 p.m. PST!

5:30 p.m. – Neil Patrick Harris opens up with a musical number featuring Anna Kendrick reprising her role from Into the Woods. Jack Black then cuts in and takes to the stage to rap before NPH takes control again.



5:36 p.m. – Lupita N’yongo then takes the stage to present Best Supporting Actor. The award goes to J.K. Simmons for Whiplash.

5:44 p.m. – Liam Neeson comes to the stage to present the first two Best Picture nominee, The Grand Budapest Hotel and American Sniper.

5:49 p.m. – Dakota Johnson presents Adam Levine to sing one of the Best Original Song nominees, Lost Stars, from Begin Again.

5:57 p.m. – Jennifer Lopez and Chris Pine present Best Costume Design. The award goes to The Grand Budapest Hotel.

6:00 p.m. – Reese Witherspoon presents Best Makeup and Hair Styling which goes to The Grand Budapest Hotel.

6:03 p.m. – Channing Tatum presents the winners of Team Oscars who will be be presenting the awards at the show.

6:09 p.m. – Nicole Kidman and Chiwetel Ejiofor present the award for Best Foreign Language Film. The award goes to Ida.

6:13 p.m. – Shirley MacLaine presents Best Picture nominees Boyhood, Birdman and, The Theory of Everything.

6:17 p.m. – Marion Cotillard presents Everything Is Awesome from The LEGO Movie.

6:25 p.m. – Kerry Washington and Jason Bateman present Best Live Action Short Film which goes to The Phone Call. Next is Best Documentary Short Subject which goes to Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1.

6:31 p.m. – Viola Davis appears on stage to present the honorees from the Govenors Award.

6:35 p.m. – Gwyneth Paltrow presents I’m Not Gonna Miss You sung by Tim McGraw.

6:43 p.m. – NPH returns from commercial parodying a scene in Birdman by walking around in his underwear. He appears on stage to cat calls and whistles and says, “Acting is a noble profession,” then introduces Margot Robbie and Miles Teller to the stage to present the winners from the Scientific and Technical Awards for a couple weeks ago.

6:45 p.m. – Sienna Miller and Chris Evans present the award for Best Sound Mixing goes to Whiplash while Best Sound Editing goes to American Sniper.

6:51 p.m. – Jared Leto presents Best Supporting Actress. The award goes to Patricia Arquette from Boyhood.

7:00 p.m. – Josh Hutcherson presents the song Grateful as performed by Rita Ora from the film Beyond the Light.

7:03 p.m. – Ansel Egort and Chloe Grace Moretz present the award for Best Visual Effects. The award goes to Interstellar.

7:06 p.m. – Kevin Hart and Anna Kendrick present Best Animated Short Film. The winner is Feast, the short film that screened in front of Big Hero 6.

 7:10 p.m. – Zoe Saldana and Dwayne Johnson present Best Animated Feature. The winner is Big Hero 6.

7:20 p.m. – Chris Pratt and Felicity Jones present Best Production Design. The winner is The Grand Budapest Hotel.

7:24 p.m. – Jessica Chastain and Idris Elba present Best Cinematography. The winner is Emmanuel Lubezki Birdman. Lubezki won this award last year for Gravity.

7:30 p.m. – Meryl Streep presents this year’s In Memoriam. Following the presentation, Jennifer Hudson comes out to perform a song.

7:42 p.m. – Naomi Watts and Benedict Cumberbatch present Best Editing. The award goes to Whiplash. Certainly deserving, but somewhat of an upset.

7:46 p.m. – Terrance Howard breathlessly presents Best Picture nominees Whiplash, Selma, and The Imitation Game.

7:50 p.m. – Jennifer Aniston and David Oyelowo present Best Documentary Feature. The winner is CitizenFour, the Edward Snowden documentary.

 7:59 p.m. – Octavia Spencer introduces John Legend and Common performing Glory from the film Selma.

8:04 p.m. – Idina Menzel appears on stage and introduces John Travolta by intentioanlly mispronouncing his name. They present Best Original Song and the winner is John Legend and Common’s Glory from Selma.

8:12 p.m. – Scarlett Johansson presents a 50th anniversary tribute to Sound of Music. Lady Gaga sings The Hills Are Alive with Music/These Are a Few of my Favorite Things. Julie Andrews then makes an appearance to present the Best Original Score award. The winner is The Grand Budapest Hotel. This entire sequence took 15 minutes and ensures this year’s show will run late.

8:30 p.m. – Eddie Murphy is introduced to present Best Original Screenplay. The winner of that award is Birdman.

8:33 p.m. – Oprah Winfrey presents Best Adapted Screenplay. The winner is Graham Moore for The Imitation Game.

8:42 p.m. – Ben Affleck presents the award for Best Director. The winner is Alejandro Gonzalez Innaritu for Birdman.

8:48 p.m. – Cate Blanchett presents the Best Actor award to Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything.

8:52 p.m. – Matthew McConaughey presents the Best Actress award to Julianne Moore for Still Alice.

9:03 p.m. – Sean Penn presents the final award of the night – Best Picture. The award goes to Birdman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s